DWI

Driving while intoxicated (or driving under the influence) can have some very serious consequences that can negatively affect your quality of life and even your ability to work.

But just because you are arrested and charged with DWI does not mean that your case is lost. There is still hope if you contact the qualified Brownsville DWI defense attorney at Aguirre Law Group. Our team can help to find any inconsistencies in the case against you in order to have your charges reduced or dismissed.

Texas Law Regarding DWI

Texas Penal Code § 49.04 stipulates that an individual is guilty of DWI if they are operating a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. Police officers use a variety of tests including chemical test, blood tests, and field sobriety tests to determine whether a driver has a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) above .08, which is the legal limit.

If your BAC is above this limit, you will be automatically arrested.

To prove a DWI charge in Texas, the prosecution must be able to prove that you were in actual physical control of the vehicle at the time of the offense. Determining factors can include:

  • Whether or not you were in the driver’s seat while the vehicle was in operation.

  • Where you were in the vehicle.

  • Whether or not the vehicle had been recently driven.

  • Whether or not the keys were in the defendant’s possession.

Texas DWI Penalties

If you have been arrested for drunk driving – even if this is your first offense – you face some seriously grave penalties that can include:

  • Loss of drivers license

  • Steep fines

  • Jail time

  • Community service

  • Probation

  • DWI school

  • $3000 driver’s license reinstatement fee

  • Annual Texas DPS surcharges ranging from $1000 to $2000.

Multiple DWI convictions can include:

  • Loss of driving privileges for up to two years.

  • A fine up to $4000.

  • Annual surcharges ranging from $1000 to $2000 for three years.

  • A third drunk driving offense is considered a third-degree felony and is punishable by 2 to 10 years in prison, loss of driving privileges, and up to a $10,000 fine.

If these penalties weren’t enough, you can also face heavy consequences in your life including losing your ability to work, as well as increased premiums on your car insurance.

How Aguirre Law Group Can Help

At Aguirre Law Group, we know your rights and have the skill to get your charges reduced, dismissed, and removed. If you are facing legal issues from any of the following charges, then contact the Brownsville DWI attorneys at Aguirre Law Group today:

  • First-offense or repeat DWI

  • Underage DUI

  • Intoxication assault

  • Drug-related DWI

Don’t let one mistake ruin your life. Contact us today at (956) 621-2748  to speak directly with our criminal defense attorney if you are facing a DWI charge.

© 2020